Home » Genuinely Random Musings » The reading tag

The reading tag

Hi, it’s me…yeah I know it’s been a while…

I was tagged to do a blog post by Aoife over at Pretty Purple Polka Dots to do a reading-related Q&A about two months ago. She even asked me before she tagged me because my blog had been left so abandoned and I said, yes I really need to get back to blogging, do tag me, I’ll do it. Well here I am, but not as soon as I probably should have.

Books everywhere

Do you have a certain place for reading at home?

Not really but my apartment is about the size of a shoe box so it’s mostly curled up on the couch or the bed.

Bookmark or random piece of paper

Always prefer bookmarks but also always lose them, so in desperation, pieces of paper are acceptable. Anything other than dog-earring. I’ve used train tickets in the past.

Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter or a certain number of pages?

I used to have to get to the end of the chapter but lately I’ve gotten better at just being able to stop and pick it up again.

Do you eat or drink when reading?

I can’t concentrate on eating anything more than a biscuit or a chocolate bar with tea. Although a glass of wine is also welcome.

One book at a time or several at once?

It used to be just one at a time but at the moment for the first time ever I have several on the go from all different genres, which I think avoids confusion. I’m reading a non-fiction collection of articles from female journalists, a horror from Stephen King (of course), a Ross O’Carroll Kelly for comedy and I’m in the middle of a YA series.

Reading at home or everywhere?

Everywhere. Mostly on the bus, at home and while I’m having coffee or waiting for someone. I’m with Lemony Snicket on this one.

Lemony Snicket quote

Reading out loud or silently in your head?

Silently. I’d be fascinated to meet someone who reads out loud over the age of seven.

Do you ever read ahead or skip pages?

Sometimes I sweep a descriptive paragraph, but I never really skip it, more graze it.

Breaking the spine or keeping it new?

I’m not answering that question, I think my stance on dog ears answers it for me.

Do you ever write in books?

See above.

What are you currently reading?

Night Shift by Stephen King, Downturn Abbey by Ross O’Carroll Kelly, The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness and Changing the Times: Irish Women Journalists, 1969-1981.

Leave a Reply

