Home » Genuinely Random Musings » Fanny Crown Gown – A fashionista is born…sort of

Fanny Crown Gown – A fashionista is born…sort of

So, working for magazines that have all things fashion, beauty and bridal, I’ve found myself  being questioned about all things wedding-related (before you ask, please refer to my FAQ on being a bridal writer) as well as questions on the best beauty products and the latest trends. While I am by no means an expert on anything fashion or beauty, I am starting to subconsciously pick up information and knowledge about both. I’m familiar with the latest trends, if I’ve tried any new products I’ll know if they’re any good and I’m starting to look at clothes and think not only when I’d wear it but also how I’d accessories it. Naturally, as a Pinterest addict, I’ve taken to making fashion mood boards in my head and when I saw this dress on Fanny Crown I just had to accessorize it.

c600x485

The remover really is the best thing for getting it off your eyes as well.

The remover really is the best thing for getting it off your eyes as well.

I love smokey eyes, they’re my favourite type of make-up and I match them with nude or coral lips and cheeks. If you’re using the Noir eyeshadow palette featured here or one with similar shades, don’t forget to use the beige shadow under your eyebrows, along the brow bone as a highlighter. It’s also worth going for They’re Real mascara and gel liner from Benefit because they’re dark and have excellent staying power. Clarins has always been a favourite of mine for lipstick but any coral or nudey-pink shade you have is perfect. The key is to not go over the top with lips when you have really dark smokey eyes, and since this dress is mainly champagne-coloured with black details, I think it calls for very dark eyes to give it an edge.

The jewellery I chose is a mixture of black and gold. I am a serious lover of silver but I think the colour in this dress calls for one to go all out with the black and gold look. I think it needs black accessories to bring out the detail but I like that they are laced with gold to keep it classy.

Finally, for the shoes and bags department, I went with basic black. Again, to keep the look edgy I think this dress calls for sky-high platform heels (or at least as high as you can tolerate – there’s edgy and then there’s falling over the edge and smacking your head because you can’t walk in those shoes). I also went with a clutch because, even though I rarely wear them myself, I think they often suit evening or cocktail dresses better than anything with straps. Besides, I work for a fashion magazine now. It’s probably time for an upgrade of my wardrobe. The clutch I featured is YSL obviously but for those with a lemonade budget like myself, I think any black clutch is fine but I love the gold detail on the YSL bag. Hey, we can dream can’t we?

The dress itself is from Fanny Crown for €159. You can see it here, and lucky for you lovely readers, you can actually get 15% off any dress on Fanny Crown with the discount code: TOMYWRITE14 until the 29th of September.

Accessories: Office platform pumps – €59 – office.co.uk | Yves Saint Laurent black handbag – €1,040 – mytheresa.com | Feather earrings – €2,170 – manonjewelry.com | Bead jewelry – €19 – 1928.com | Blossom jewelry – €8.90 – okajewelry.com | Noir Cosmetics eyeshadow – €15 – beautybar.com | Benefit coral blush  – €21 – benefitcosmetics.com | Clarins lips makeup – €24 – selfridges.com

Leave a Reply

