Home » Genuinely Random Musings » The Goodreads tag

The Goodreads tag

Goodreads-Logo

Yes, another post about books. But it’s been one full month since I bought my last book and I got one for free and they were both part of the series I will shortly be moving on to. Meanwhile, my Goodreads account is quickly expanding, and I found this post on Pretty Purple Polka Dots so decided to, once again shamelessly plagiarise borrow it for my own blog.

What was the last book you marked as read?

The Circle by Dave Eggers. It’s a good take on fictional social media company that is so connected it’s close to complete world takeover. It sounds to me like a combination of Google and Facebook in a not so distant future. It’s an interesting read, if a little preachy about the dangers of too much online and social media, although I’m not sure the effects could be denied in the real world.

Also appearing on my “read” bookshelf…

Before that it was Stephen King’s Misery, simply because I had never seen the film adaptation and wanted to read it first. Both were excellent. Prior to that I read the Divergent series (LOL, prior…I just made a Divergent pun), the Gone series and all three of Gillian Flynn’s books (author of Gone Girl).

goodreads

What book are you currently reading?

The Girl With All The Gifts. I have to admit, it’s not at all what I expected based on the cover and the blurb. But it’s very good so far.

What was the last book you marked as to-read?

The Matched series, as recommended for me on Buzzfeed. There are also several other series here I am considering adding to my to-read pile. All suggestions and recommendations are welcome.

What do you plan to read next?

The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly. Then I will probably revert back to series.

Do you use the star rating?

Yes but I don’t like it. I end up marking most books 4 or 5 stars if I like them because everything else seems to harsh if I really enjoyed it. But that puts everything in the category of “best thing ever” and that’s not necessarily true either. I’m also too lazy to write reviews. There, I said it.

Are you doing a 2014 reading challenge?

Yes it is also a New Year’s Resolution for me to read twice as many books as I did last year. So I only have to read 24 and I’ve already read 14.

Leave a Reply

