Home » Genuinely Random Musings » One more resolution, as if I didn’t have enough to be getting on with.

One more resolution, as if I didn’t have enough to be getting on with.

untitledI would like to add one more resolution to my list – one I’ve actually been doing particularly well with so far. I know I was actively taking exercise off the list so typically, I have excelled. I have decided to run the Flora Women’s Mini Marathon  this year and have started training already. I got the C25K app to help me with interval training (I have since learned that I could have just got the C210K since the mini marathon is 10k but I can skip ahead).

The app basically takes you out for 30-40 minutes three times a week and practices interval training of walking and running until you’re able to run for 5k. This goes up to an hour for 10k. I’m currently on week 4 and I’ve hit 5k within the work out (32 minutes) for the first time. Due to typical Irish weather and working 50+ hours a week I’m a bit behind. I should have done my first workout of week 5 yesterday but I still have one more week 4 workout to complete.

More importantly I have set in stone plans of a personal 5k run with my running mate, a 6.4k race in Dunboyne, the Spar 10k run for an official time for the mini marathon and then the mini marathon itself. It’s tough but good and since I’m one od the laziest, anti-exercise people I know, I would highly recommend the C25K or C210K apps. Now, I’m off to buy new runners.

4 thoughts on “One more resolution, as if I didn’t have enough to be getting on with.

  1. Pingback: My first marathon that didn’t involve a television series | To My Write

Leave a Reply

