Home » Genuinely Random Musings » New year, same me with added determination

New year, same me with added determination

Happy New Year everyone! This year for a change I’m going to actually write my resolutions at the start of the year like a normal person. I know what you’re thinking. “Jenny, why do you keep doing this, it’s embarrassing and nearly always ends in failure.” In a way, yes it does. I rarely complete the list but I always make an attempt and any achievement is good right?

untitled

Besides, I achieved other things that weren’t exactly in my control so wouldn’t have gone into a list like this. So, as usual, here’s my evaluation of how I got on in 2013:

Practise shorthand – fail

Read one book a month – done (as long as that’s just an average, I read 16 in five months)

Pass my driving test – fail (didn’t fail the test, just didn’t do the test)

Maintain my blog better – done

Go for a walk once a week – fail

Write everyday – done

Brainstorm – fell down around April

Work through Ready, Set, Novel! – fell down in December

Do 30 Day Creative Writing Challenge – fail, but ongoing

Work through Writing Fiction, Step by Step – fail

Some of them you might know as mid-2013 writing resolutions. Once again, could be better, could be worse. Onwards and upwards so here are my 2014 resolutions.

Shorthand – exact same goal as last year because I only failed from laziness. One day a week, adding a day for every month.

Read 24 books – That averages as two books per month but it’s not limited.

Pass my driving test – I’m determined to pass in 2014. End of story.

Continue to better my blog.

Brainstorm ideas for work, writing, blogging and freelancing once a week.

Finish Ready, Set, Novel! and start my own novel.

Finish “30-Day” Creative Writing Challenge – not necessarily in 30 days, but I have to complete all challenges.

Do The Artist’s Way – Again, I’m determined!

Learn Spanish again – I’m even going to do a course for this one.

Wish me luck, and let me know what your resolutions are.

3 thoughts on “New year, same me with added determination

  1. Hi Jenny! Out of curiosity, are you picking up shorthand again? I was taught Pitman, though it never stuck with me. I’m waiting on my Teeline book to arrive and then I’ll begin shorthand again…

  2. Hi Aileen, Yeah I was taught Pitman too and it did stick with me when I practised but I lose it once I don’t use it. I think it’s the same with most. I’ve never tried Teeline. I think it would just confuse me…one type of shorthand is confusing enough…

Leave a Reply

