Home » Entertainment » Excellent films I was luckily forced to watch

Excellent films I was luckily forced to watch

MV5BNDMwNDk3NDQ0Nl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNjEwMjI2MQ@@._V1_SY317_CR6,0,214,317_Cinema Paradiso is celebrating its 25th anniversary and I can happily say it is a work of cinematic genius. This isn’t something I can usually say because I don’t tend to watch films that fall into the category of “greatest films ever”, unless coerced – I got a shameful 64 out of 250 of IMDb’s top 250 films of all time. There are two reasons my score is even as high as it is: my male friends and boyfriend forcing me to watch such films (you all know who you are), and mandatory viewings in school. Cinema Paradiso was the latter, for a comparative study in Transition Year English.

Here are ten more films I’m so glad I was made watch in school and suggest you watch if you haven’t already. Classes marked with a * were Transition Year classes.

Inside I’m Dancing (a.k.a Rory O’Shea Was Here) – English

The Green Mile – Religion (Free Class)

Schindler’s List – History

Hotel Rwanda – Developing World*

The Shawshank Redemption – Religion (Free Class)

Of Mice and Men – English

Pan’s Labyrinth (a.k.a El Laberinto del Fauno) – Spanish

The Wind that Shakes the Barley – History

Michael Collins – Film Studies*

My Left Foot – Unknown (Free Class)**

** While I obviously can’t remember what class this was meant to be (it was at least five years ago) I think it was a last class before Christmas where we got to watch a movie.

Leave a Reply

