Home » Genuinely Random Musings » Out with the old, in with the New Year’s resolutions…well sort of.

Out with the old, in with the New Year’s resolutions…well sort of.

I have developed some divine inspiration to write recently. Any fellow writers will understand the concept of saying “I’m writing a book” when you’re really playing solitaire, drinking, working, studying and pretty much taking part in life while writing your actual novel can often fall by the wayside.

I'll get to it eventually, I swear!

I’ll get to it eventually, I swear!

I’ve often attributed my lack of actual writing to writer’s block and not being able to find the right inspiration or think of the right novel idea or the right first line. However, a trip into Hodges Figgis on Dawson Street in which I spent over €50 in the Gifts for Writers section, lead me to spark some internal creativity and inspiration. And as the summer draws to a close and as I head into a full-time job (well, internship) I think September is usually a good time to reflect and have some ‘new year’s’ resolutions, focused on maximising productivity. It’s also a second chance at picking up my resolutions from January to save myself from the failure come December.

1. Pracise shorthand one hour, four days a week – and five in October, six in November and seven in December. Then I can reduce the time.

2. Work through Ready, Set, Novel! by December – and then start the actual novel.

3. Read every day – something I’ve successfully been doing for the past month.

4. Brainstorm ideas at the end of each week.

5. Work through 30 day writing challenge – I will probably do this in November.

6. Work through writing exercises in Writing Fiction Step by Step.

7. Do The Artist’s Way – this will probably end up being a 2014 resolution because it’s a 12-week thing but I’m sticking it here anyway.

Leave a Reply

