Home » Genuinely Random Musings » Let’s see what’s left

Let’s see what’s left

This day last week was Left-Handers’ Day, and as mentioned in a previous post about random facts, 11% of the population is left-handed, myself included. So, to pay tribute to my fellow lefties, I have compiled some facts about our people including the everyday challenges we face.

Yes, I know I write weird. Stop staring at me!

Yes, I know I write weird. Stop staring at me!

Some things you need to know if you’re left-handed

Apparently, we die on average up to nine years sooner than our right-handed counterparts. Awesome.

We are also more likely to become alcoholic, schizophrenic, delinquent, and dyslexic.We’re also more likely to have Crohn’s disease and suffer strokes. I know it’s bleak but apparently…

We are more likely to survive these things than right-handed people. Perhaps a defence mechanism from being unfairly predisposed? I’m just sayin’.

We tend to draw figures facing to the right (except for those of us who can’t draw at all…ahem….)

We’re more prone to allergies and asthma. Yes, I had asthma as a child.

We tend to be on extreme ends of the intelligence scale – No jokes about which end I’m on, please!

We can also adjust to seeing underwater quicker.

We make good baseball (or rounders for my fellow Irish) players, tennis players, swimmers, boxers and fencers.

Of the seven most recent U.S Presidents, 3 have been left-handed: Obama, Clinton and George H. W Bush (Sr).

Great. Now my hand's dirty and the card is ruined.

Great. Now my hand’s dirty and the card is ruined.

Some things you need to know about the hardships of being a left-handed individual

Everyone thinks you hold your pen weird when you write.

Spiral notebooks are not left-hand friendly.

You are subjected to a life of dirty hands and smudged birthday cards.

One word: scissors.

A constant fight for survival against the oppression of the right-handed majority. I’m convinced they’re trying to eliminate us. Don’t worry, I’m rallying the troops!

Hope you all had a nice leftie day!

One thought on “Let’s see what’s left

Leave a Reply

