Home » Drive-by Blog Posts » Drive-by post: Eight weeks, eight ‘mealz-ina-cup’

Drive-by post: Eight weeks, eight ‘mealz-ina-cup’

If you follow me on twitter (that’s me rambling down the right hand side there), you will know that I spent eight weeks on an internship with The Irish Times┬árecently. There is so much I can say about those eight weeks, they taught me some of the best things I’ve learned, they reaffirmed my passion for writing and working for a newspaper, and they made me feel like a proper journalist. But I think the best thing I learned, something I’m sure many students who lived on their own would be familiar with, is the amount of full dinners you can get in cup and pot form. Nothing could have prepared me for how much proper meals you can get by boiling water in a cup or sticking a pot in a microwave for four minutes.

So without further ado, here are my top eight cup meals that I had at some point in my eight week internship; and believe me, I had them way more than eight times in eight weeks.

So many pots...

So many pots…

Spaghetti Bolognese

Curry Rice

Crunchy Nut Cereal to go

Pot Noodle

Sweet ‘n’ Sour Rice

Tomato and Basil Pasta

Cuppa Soup

Chili Con Carne

Honourable mention: Keogh’s Atlantic Sea Salt & Irish Cider Vinegar Crisps. They sold them in the canteen. I had almost one packet a day. No word of a lie.

Leave a Reply

