Home » Genuinely Random Musings » Karma’s only a bitch if you are

Karma’s only a bitch if you are

I am a very strong believer in karma. It originates from Indian religions but there’s western interpretations from “what goes around comes around”, to “reap what one sows”.  Many non-religious people believe in karma, mainly because in modern society it is almost completely devoid of its religious connotations and resembles something closer to a physical law of balance in people’s mind, like Newton’s law of motion: For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction. It’s the idea that if you do good things, good things will happen to you, and the same goes for bad things.

Every action has an equal and opposite reaction - Newton.

Every action has an equal and opposite reaction – Newton.

I have seen karma in action and I don’t generally believe in coincidences that often. If nothing else, I have a similar view about believing in karma as I do about religion in some respects. Let’s just skip the big discussion and say I’m not talking about extremists who carry out suicide bombings and murder because of their religion. I mean there is a base in which every religion originally came from. Do good; do good and you will be rewarded. Whether that’s in heaven or in another life where you come back as some better off being, doesn’t matter. Like I said, I’m not here to pull at that thread. But I see no point in refuting that part of karma or religion. Even if you don’t believe, you should be doing good things anyway because it’s the right thing to do, and anything after that is a bonus.

Sometimes life hands you a bad day. I don’t know if I believe in karma so wholeheartedly that absolutely everything that happens to you, good or bad is a reflection on a good or bad thing that you did at some stage in your life. And I know plenty of people who have done lots of good things and are generally good people and don’t get half the good things they deserve. Karma has not paid up (yet). But I can often see instant karma everywhere, for very minor things. You think it’s funny that that man tripped over his shoe lace? Well then smack – Into the pole, you walk. Oh you got a new white coat? It’s amazing, are you done bragging? No? Oh my God where did that tomato sauce fall out of?

We’re all guilty of the minor ones from time to time (come on, it’s funny when someone trips once they don’t hurt themselves,) but if I do believe that all the actions are balanced from how we live our lives then the bigger ones probably take time to come back around. But I think regardless everyone should live their lives with karma in mind. Firstly because you should do good things and it’s nice to think good things will happen to you in return. I’m still waiting for some good karma after I found and returned someone’s iPhone 5. But secondly, it’s calming and helpful to sometimes think when you’re on the receiving end of someone’s bad behaviour, that karma won’t let them get away with it scot-free. We’ve all seen “My Name is Earl”.

Here’s an example of some serious instant karma from recently. It’s important to heed the warning at the start, that you may find it distressing. It is also important to note that the man in the video was taken to hospital and his injuries were treated.

Leave a Reply

