Home » Journalism » One million, five hundred seventy-eight thousand minutes

One million, five hundred seventy-eight thousand minutes

I know I could be accused of being the worst blogger ever (not to mention I’m actually doing worse with the New Year’s resolutions) but I’ve been busy with final year in college and I plan to churn out a number of posts in the next few days to make up for it.

If you’re a Rent fan you will get the title of this blog, from the song Seasons of Love. The number is re-jigged slightly because it accounts for three years of my life in minutes. That’s how many minutes I’ve been in college. This week has been an emotional roller coaster for myself and most of my classmates. We’ve worked together, endured torturous classes, helped each other with assignments, confided in one another, drank, slept, shifted, laughed, cried and gone abroad. I don’t think any of us realised just how hard it was going to be to say goodbye until the time really came.

The beginning of the end.

The beginning of the end.

I’m the first to admit that I am mostly an emotional wreck when it comes to things like this. It doesn’t take a lot to get me going and once I start I can’t stop. And nothing sets me off quicker than an emotive song or another person crying. Both of which were present at the last college ball last night.

We pre-drank, we dressed up, we took many photos and we danced all night. Then the sad penultimate song came on and the final years started to get emotional. It started to sink in that this really is one of the last hurrahs before we all go our separate ways. And then the reminiscing starts…

These passed three years have been the best of my life so far, and I’m confident in saying they probably won’t be beaten. Everyone always says college is the best time of your life and you really don’t get it back and it goes by so fast. While I didn’t think these people were lying, nothing truly prepared me for it when it happened. I didn’t think I’d enjoy it as much as I did and I didn’t think I’d meet such amazing people. A group of very talented, quirky, random, nice, considerate and friendly people is what awaited me when I was offered my place in college back in August 2010, I just didn’t know it yet.

In the last six months I’ve probably grown as close to them as I have friends I’ve known all my life, including newbies that I only met in the last six months. When my other friends who are still in college realised I was finishing it was always the same conversation.

“Oh my God you’re finished in X months/weeks!”

“I know I’m terrified, then I have to survive in the real world.”

This was true, it still is, sort of. I am scared of what will happen next. I’m scared of not getting a job and being caught in limbo. But, until these last two weeks, I had no idea just how terrified I would be of losing all these people (more so than the job thing – I can always go on the dole, sure).

So this is a tribute blog post to anyone finishing up their time in college. Also to those who have some time left. Prepare for emotions in your final year. You don’t get the time back. But particularly and specifically, to my JR3s. It’s been a hell of a ride.

If I made you cry, I do apologise. Feel free to give out to me in the comments.

2 thoughts on “One million, five hundred seventy-eight thousand minutes

  1. Yes JD, you made me cry. Thanks. Great job! I was doing so well!!
    Never-the-less, we’re going to miss you SO so so so so much next year! All the final years. It’s not going to be the same and ye had better all stay in touch!!
    X

Leave a Reply

