Home » Genuinely Random Musings » It’s that time of year again…

It’s that time of year again…

Given how unusually and unexpectedly busy this month was, I have generously given myself until the end of January to write up my new years resolutions and start them. Now that the “last chance saloon-ness” of this post has been explained, I will divulge my list for the world to see; first, a bit of self-criticism. Let’s see how I did with my 2012 list (read the detailed list here):

  1. Get rid of the blanket – done
  2. Read one book a month – fell down around May
  3. Make a start on my own book – fail
  4. Practice shorthand six days a week – fail
  5. Drink a glass of water every morning and evening – fell down around March
  6. Write everyday – done 
  7. Make monthly plans – fell down around September
  8. Clean my room at the end of the month – fail
  9. Go for a walk/jog once or twice a week – fell down around June
  10. Learn to drive – done (almost)
  11. Maintain my blog – done
  12. Do The Artist’s Way fail

OK, I could have done better, but I could have done worse. Learn to drive I technically succeeded in, I may not have my full licence but I can drive. Now, no dwelling on past failures, onwards and upwards:

  1. Practice shorthand – I’ll make this easier. One day a week for a month, then up the number of days every month. By August I should be up to every day.
  2. booksRead one book per month – I really am going to try to stick to it this time. I just need one book that’ll get me back into it. Suggestions anyone?
  3. Pass my driving test – I have now officially completed my 12 EDT lessons so I should be sitting my test in the next two or three months and I am determined to pass.driving
  4. Maintain my blog better – I did manage to maintain it pretty consistently last year but I would like to make that more consistent and possibly more frequent.
  5. Go for a walk once a week – It’s not for exercise it’s just for the sake of a bit of fresh air and head space. Weather permitting, of course.
  6. writingWrite every day – Like last year, everything counts. But I want to do more blog posts and articles and proper writing. Diaries and gratitude books can’t be all I write in.
  7. Brainstorm once a week – It sounds weird but not to journos. While my various current jobs have me brainstorming ideas constantly, I want to dedicate more time to personal brainstorming ideas (which will help with the writing every day).

OK, I plan to really stick to these, no matter what. Regardless of work, college and extra curricular activities or social life. I hope to keep you all posted (maybe that should be another resolution) and in the meantime, fill me in. What are everyone else’s resolutions?

One thought on “It’s that time of year again…

  1. Pingback: Bibliophilsm – yes, there’s a word for my addiction; I looked it up | To My Write

Leave a Reply

